SDMA Structure

On 23rd December, 2005, the Government of India took a defining step by enacting the Disaster Management Act, 2005, which envisaged creation of the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) headed by the Prime Minister, State Disaster Management Authorities (SDMA) headed by the Chief Ministers, and District Disaster Management Authorities (DDMA) headed by the District Magistrates or Deputy Commissioners as the case may be, to spearhead and adopt a holistic and integrated approach to disaster management (DM).  There will be a paradigm shift, from the erstwhile relief-centric response to a proactive prevention, mitigation and preparedness-driven approach for conserving development gains and to minimize loss of life, livelihood and property.

Section 3 the Disaster Management Act 2005 lays down the establishment of State Disaster Management Authority at the State Government levels.  Accordingly for the State, the SDMA was notified vide notification No. Rev. D(F) 4-2/2000-V dated 1-06-2007.  The constitution of the SDMA is as under:-

i) Hon'ble Chief Minister Chairman
ii) Hon'ble Revenue Minister Co-Chairman
iii) Vacant Vice Chairman
iv) Chief Secretary Member
v) Additional Chief Secretary(Home) Member
vi) Additional Chief Secretary (PWD) Member
vii) Additional Chief Secretary (Health) Member
viii) Director General of Police Member
ix) Additional Chief Secretary (Revenue) Member Secretary


State Executive Committee(S.E.C)

In continuation of this department's Notification of even No. dated 5th May, 2009 and in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section(1) of section 20 the Disaster Management Act, 2005 the Governor Himachal Pradesh is now pleased to re-constitute the State Executive Committee to assist the State Authority in the performance of its functions and to coordinate action in accordance with the guidelines laid down by State Authority and ensure the compliance of the directions issued by the State Government under the Act ibid, consisting of the following members as specified in Sub-section(2) of the section 20 of the said Act, namely :-

i) Chief Secretary Chairperson
ii) Additional Chief Secretary(Revenue) Member Secretary
iii) Additional Chief Secretary(Home) Member
iv) Additional Chief Secretary(Health) Member
v) Additional Chief Secretary (PWD) Member